Quality Council Scheme

28th November 2012
ImageThe Quality Council Scheme (QCS) was launched in 2003 following the publication of the Government's Rural White Paper in 2000. The aim of the Scheme is to provide benchmark minimum standards for parish and town councils. Following research and review by the University of Wales, the Scheme was revised in 2008 passing into Statute as part of the Local Government and Involvement in Health Act 2007.
The Scheme is supported by six National Stakeholders, the Commission for Rural Communities, the Department for Communities and Local Government, the Department for the Environment, Food and Rural Affairs, The Local Government Association, the National Association of Local Councils and the Society of Local Council Clerks.
There are currently twenty nine Quality Councils in Hampshire and they are:
Bishopstoke Kingsclere
Bishop's Waltham Lockerley
Blackwater & Hawley Marchwood
Brockenhurst Overton
Denmead Petersfield
Durley Romsey
East Dean Romsey Extra
Fair Oak & Horton Heath St Mary Bourne
Fordingbridge Swanmore
Hamble-le-Rice Tadley
Headley West Meon
Hurstbourne Tarrant Whiteley
Hyde Wickham
Hythe & Dibden Yateley
King's Sombourne  
In September 2012 it was announced that the Quality Council Scheme Steering Group is going to conduct a review of the Scheme. It is anticipated that a new Scheme will be launched during 2013.
The Steering Group has agreed to freeze the Quality Council status of those councils whose current accreditation is due to end from 1st September 2012. Once the scheme is re-launched those councils who would have lapsed during the period of the freeze will be given at least 3 months in which to reaccredit.
If you require any further information about the Quality Council Scheme, please contact Louise Channell.
Page owner: Executive Officer
Last updated: 05 December 2012